Archive for February 7th, 2009

Shadows of a carousel horse

There is a house at the entrance to our neighborhood that has had the same residents for at least 23 years.  They have a carousel horse displayed in a big front window behind a shade and bright lamp.  Every night the shadow invites a curiosity as I drive by.  It is a constant in my life and I am thankful for it.  There are not many constants in life.  Things always change.  I do not know the home owners, but enjoy their whimsical decorating style. It cheers me on to see the carousel horse shadow galloping to somewhere.

I have been humming a Chicago song this morning called Saturday in the Park.  There is much to accomplish this weekend and I hope to be up to the tasks.  Having a constant running list of Things to Do  can be helpful and can be a deterrent to action.  I hope this is not the case today and tomorrow.

The teaching machine is tired.  The learning factory is taking its toll, but I continue to aim for optimism in its regard. There is no such thing as “academic freedom” in the elementary setting.   We do have an element of students who could be charter members of FTA- which stands for Future Thugs of America.  They have been pulling my chain and  pushing my buttons lately.   We have many, many  wonderful students who make it all worthwhile in the long run.  In the short run, I have to remind myself of challenges some kids face that I can’t fathom in my own reality.  I must remember Watty Piper’s book The Little Engine That Could and repeat the mantra…”I Think I Can, I Think I Can…..”

A weekday snow “event” would be nice too.    Love those spontaneous days off!!!